JU Press Club gets new executive body, Shihab-Hasib to lead

JU Press Club gets new executive body, Shihab-Hasib to lead

Executive Council Election of Jahangirnagar University Press Club (JUPC) has been held today. 

Shihab Uddin, the campus correspondent of Daily Jaijaidin, and Hasib Sohel of The Bangladesh Post were elected as the President and General Secretary, respectively, to lead the Executive Council for the year 2023-24.

On Sunday (January 22) at 1 pm, Chief Election Commissioner, Professor of Geography and Environment, Md. Shahedur Rashid announced the results. 

Earlier, the polling started at 9:30 in the morning at the press club office and ended at 12:30. Cent per cent vote was cast through the spontaneous participation of general members of the JU Press Club.

In the election, Musaddekur Rahman (Daily Jugantar) was elected vice-president; Noman Bin Harun (Amader Somoy) as the Joint Secretary, Jubair Ahmed (The Bangladesh Today) as Treasurer, Wazhatul Islam (Bangla Tribune) as Secretary of Office, Tanvir Ibn Mubarak (Amar Sangbad) as Secretary of Library Affairs and Rahat Chowdhury (Daily Ajkaler Khobor) and Md Sowrov (Daily Amar Barta) have been elected as executive members.

After announcing the results, the election commissioner said, "JU Press Club election has been held in a festive atmosphere. The participation of all members in the elections is an expression of democratic practice." 

"I hope the newly elected committee and its members will represent Jahangirnagar University nationally and internationally."

Assistant Election Commissioner, Assistant Professor of the Department of Government and Politics Kamrul Hasan, Assistant Professor of Journalism and Media Studies Department Mridha Md Shibli Noman and Khalilur Rahman, former general secretary of JU Press Club, who served as member secretary in the election, were present.

During the election, the Vice-Chancellor, Dr Md Nurul Alam, visited the polling centre. He said, "Election is a systematic process of any organisation. JU Press Club has set an example by holding elections at the right time every year. I hope the new leadership will continue the democratic trend and proceed with the press club's legacy."

Besides, during the election, the advisor of the Press Club, Mohammad Sayedur Rahman, Dean of the Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Farid Ahmed, President of the Provost Committee, Professor Dr Abdullah Hel Kafi, Director of Teachers-Students Center, Professor Dr Mohammad Alamgir Kabir, Professor of Government and Politics Department, Bashir Ahmed, professor of history, ATM Atiqur Rahman, Professor of Environmental Sciences, Hafizur Rahman, Professor of Pharmacy Department, Sukalyan Kumar Kundu, Professor of Chemistry Department, Shahed Rana, Professor of Zoology, Kabirul Bashar, IBA Professor Motahaler Hossain, Statistics Department Professor Moha. Mujibur Rahman, Associate Professor of Government and Politics department Mohammad Tariqul Islam, Assistant Professor of Geography and Environment Department Rezaul Rakib, Assistant Professor of IBA Maudud Ahmed and leading brass of various social, cultural and political organisations visited the polling station and observed the election. 

[email protected]

Share if you like

Filter By Topic