Voting underway in C’nawabganj Sadar upazila election

| Updated: October 20, 2019 13:42:46

UZ polls in C’nawabganj: Voting underway

Balloting was underway in the Sadar Upazila Parishad election in Chapainawabganj district on Monday.

Voting started at 9:00am and will continue till 5:00pm.

Three candidates are contesting for the chairman post. They are Najrul Islam of Awami League, Tasikul Islam of BNP and independent candidate Ziaur Rahman.

A total of 381,914 voters of one municipality and 14 unions of the upazila are casting votes at 157 voting centres, reports UNB.

Motawakkil Rahman, returning officer and district election officer, said necessary steps had been taken to hold a peaceful election.

Rapid Action Battalion (RAB) members were deployed as striking force beside Ansar, Police and BGB, he added.

Share if you like

Filter By Topic