The Financial Express

Five in race to win RCC mayoral post

| Updated: July 11, 2018 11:29:29

Five in race to win RCC mayoral post

A total of 217 candidates have remained in race of the upcoming election to Rajshahi City Corporation (RCC) scheduled to be held on July 30.

Of them, five for mayor, 160 for general councillors and 52 for reserved seats for women councillors. Election officials published the list of candidates on Monday afternoon which was the deadline for withdrawal of candidature.

Assistant Returning Officer Atiar Rahman said nomination forms of 226 candidates including six for mayor were declared valid.

Of them, Jatiya Party nominated mayor candidate Washiur Rahman Dolon and eight others for general councillor post have withdrawn their nomination papers.

The mayoral candidates are: AHM Khairuzzaman Liton (Awami League), Musaddique Hossain Bulbul (BNP), Habibur Rahman (Bangladesh Jatiya Party), Shafiqul Islam (Islami Andolon Bangladesh) and Advocate Murad Murshed (Independent).

Atiar Rahman said there are 3,18,138 voters including 1,62,053 female voters who will exercise their right of franchise at 138 centres to elect one mayor, 30 general councillors and 10 women councillors in reserved seats in the upcoming election.

He said the candidates started their formal election campaign after getting symbol in full-swing on Tuesday, BSS reported.

Rahman added that all preparations were taken for holding the election on July 30 peacefully and successfully.

Share if you like

Filter By Topic