BNP MPs likely to resign today

| Updated: December 10, 2022 14:15:54

BNP MPs likely to resign today

The Members of Parliament (MPs) of BNP are likely to resign on Saturday as per the decision of the party’s standing committee.

The party MPs have been asked to resign from parliament as the party will announced a 10-point demand including dissolution of parliament from the today’s rally, said a standing committee member of BNP wishing anonymity, reports UNB.

He said they took the decision at a meeting on Friday night.

BNP is holding it last rally from where the party will announce their demands for launching a simultaneous movement.

10-Point Demand to be announced

BNP standing committee member Khandaker Mosharraf Hossain said, from their rally, they will announce a 10-point demand.

 “We have already discussed the points of the movement with those who are ready to wage a simultaneous movement with us. We hope they will simultaneously announce the 10 points – that we have formulated – from their respective positions,” he said.

Mosharraf hoped that all parties who reach an understanding with them to initiate a simultaneous movement will move forward and intensify the anti-government agitation.

A BNP standing committee member, wishing anonymity, said the party will also announce some new programmes like demonstrations, token-hunger strikes, human chains and sit-ins from the rally demanding the release of party’s leaders and activists and press for their 10-point demand.

He said their demands include the resignation of the government, dissolution of parliament, including the provision of the caretaker government in the constitution through an amendment, formation of a new Election Commission under the caretaker government,  creating a level-playing field before the election, holding the election using ballot papers, releasing BNP

Chairperson Khaleda Zia and all other political prisoners without any condition and revoking the Digital Security Act and other repressive laws, ensuring the freedom of expression and assembly and keeping all essential items within the buying capacity of people.

There are seven MPs of the party including one from the reserved women seat.

On October 29, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir said MPs from his party are ready to resign from the current parliament as their main goal is to restore democracy by ousting the Awami League government.

Share if you like

Filter By Topic